On Saturday, November 14, 2009
the UCLA Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
awarded the The 2009 Glenn T. Seaborg Medal to
Mostafa A. El-Sayed, Ph.D.
Julius Brown Chair and Regents Professor
Director, Laser Dynamics Laboratory
Georgia Institute of Technology

Click here to view photos from the event
The Glenn T. Seaborg Medal was presented to Mostafa A. El-Sayed, UCLA Chemistry & Biochemistry Professor Emeritus, Georgia Tech Julius Brown Chair and Regents Professor, and Director, Laser Dynamics Laboratory. The symposium and medal dinner were held on November 14, 2009. The theme of the symposium was "Advanced Materials and Nano-Technology." In addition to Professor El-Sayed, speakers included Professors A. Paul Alvisatos (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory at UC Berkeley), Professor Paul Barbara (Director of the Center for Nano & Molecular Science and Technology at University of Texas, Austin), Professor Zhong Lin Wang (Director of the Center for Nanostructure Characterization, Georgia Tech), and Professor Ahmed Zewail (Arthur Amos Noyes Lab of Chemical Physics, CalTech).
Mostafa A. El-Sayed Biography
El-Sayed was presented a 2007 National Medal of Science medal by President George Bush at the 2008 ceremony at the White House.

Dr. Mostafa El-Sayed, a native-born Egyptian, received his B.Sc. at Ain Shams University (1953) in Cairo, Egypt, and his Ph.D. degree at Florida State University (1958) in Tallahassee, Florida. After doing postdoctoral work at Yale, Harvard, and CalTech, he joined the faculty at UCLA in 1961. In 1994, he moved to Georgia Tech and became the Julius Brown Chair, Regents Professor, and the Director of the Laser Dynamics Laboratory.

El-Sayed has published over 500 papers in peer-reviewed journals, delivered over 50 endowed lectures and over 250 invited or plenary talks at national and international conferences. He has supervised the research of over 80 Ph.D students and over 50 postdoctoral fellows. His research covers the fields of molecular dynamics in systems ranging from gaseous molecules to condensed crystalline, amorphous, and biological systems. His group has contributed significantly to the field of semiconductor nano-crystals, as well as transition and noble metal particles and their applications in nano-(shape-dependent) catalysis and nano-(surface plasmon) photonics. Most recently he has exploited the use of antibody-conjugated metal nanoparticles for cancer diagnostics and photothermal therapy.

El-Sayed is an elected member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences (1980), an elected Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, an Associate member of the Third World Academy of Science, and a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and of the American Physical Society. In 1980 he was appointed Editor of the Journal of Physical Chemistry and – over the course of the following 25 years – inspired and shepherded its transformation into one of the premier interdisciplinary research journals in the world. He has received the 1990 King Faisal International Prize in Science, as well as a number of national awards such as the Fresenius, the Tolman, the Richards medal, and numerous other American Chemical Society local section awards. In 2002, he received the American Chemical Society Langmuir National Award in Chemical Physics (2001). He has also been recognized by a number of honorary doctors degrees from different international universities, was a Fairchild visiting professor at CalTech, a Senior von Humboldt Fellow in West Germany, and a Miller Visiting Professor at UC Berkeley. In 2007 he was named the Distinguished Professor of the Year at Georgia Tech. In 2008, he received the USA National Medal of Science from the President of the United States, and in 2009 he received the Medal of the Republic of the first class from the President of Egypt.
2009 Seaborg Symposium Speakers
   Professor Albert Courey
   Professor & Chair, UCLA Department of Chemistry and Biochemisty
   Session I Chair:
   Professor Paul S. Weiss
    Director, California NanoSystems Institute at UCLA
    Professor, UCLA Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
   Professor Ahmed Zewail
   California Institute of Technology, Chemistry & Physics, 1999 Nobel Laureate
   "4D Microscopy: Visualizing Materials and Biological Function"
   Professor Zhong L. Wang
    Georgia Institute of Technology, School of Materials Science and Engineering
"Harvesting Biomechanical Energy by Nanogenerators"
   Professor Paul Barbara
    University of Texas at Austin, Chemistry
   "A Molecular Level Understanding of Charge & Energy Transfer
   Dynamics in Solid-State Conjugated Polymeric Materials"
   Session II Chair:
   Professor Sarah Tolbert
   Professor, UCLA Department of Chemistry and Biochemisty
   Professor A. Paul Alivisatos
  University of California at Berkeley, Chemistry & Materials Science
   "Nanoscale Photovoltaics and Photosynthesis Materials"
   Professor Mostafa El-Sayed
    Georgia Institute of Technology
   "Properties and Applications of Photons Captured Photons by Gold     Nanoparticles in Materials Science and Cancer Research"
Questions? E-mail seaborg@chem.ucla.edu or call (310) 206-4956
UCLA Chemistry & Biochemistry Newsletter Alumni Info

Updated 08/11/2011
Webmaster - Penny Jennings, penny@chem.ucla.edu