2010 Seaborg Symposium Program
"Transcription, Stem Cells, and Differentiation"
Saturday, November 13, 2010

Symposium - UCLA CNSI Auditorium - 1:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Dinner and Medal Awarding - UCLA Faculty Center - 6:30 p.m. to 9:30 pm.

  California NanoSystems Institute (CNSI)
Auditorium, UCLA
1:00 p.m.    Poster Viewing (CNSI lobby)
   Welcome & Session Chair I:
   Professor Albert Courey

Chair, UCLA Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
   Professor Kathrin Plath
   UCLA Department of Biological Chemistry

   "Molecular Events in Reprogramming to Induced Pluripotency"
    Professor Konrad Hochedlinger
    Principal Faculty Member, Harvard Stem Cell Institute and Early Career Scientist, 
     Howard Hughes Medical Institute

   "Mechanisms of Cellular Reprogramming"
3:10 p.m.    Break and Poster Session (CNSI lobby)
3:45 p.m.    Session II Chair:
   Professor Stephen Smale

   UCLA Department of Microbiology, Immunology, and  Molecular Genetics
    Professor Steven L. McKnight
   University of Texas, Southwestern Medical Center, Distinquished Chair in Basic Biomedical     Research, Sam G. Winstead and F. Andrew Bell Distinquished Chair in Biochemistry

   "Discovery of a Pro-Neurogenic, Neuroprotective Chemical"
    Professor Robert Tjian
    President, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Professor, Department of Molecular and      Cell Biology, University of California, Berkeley

   "Unexpected Mechanisms of Transcriptional Control Driving ES     Cell Pluripotency and Differentiation"
5:20 p.m.    Closing Remarks
   Professor Albert Courey

   Chair, UCLA Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
   Dinner and Medal Awarding:
   UCLA Faculty Center

     6:30 p.m. Reception
7:30 p.m. Dinner 8:30 p.m. Program
Questions? E-mail seaborg@chem.ucla.edu or call (310) 206-4956
Dr. Seaborg's Biography Chem & Biochem UCLA Alumni Info Newsletter

Updated 08/11/2011
Webmaster - Penny Jennings, penny@chem.ucla.edu